Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

We don’t often share our cookie recipes, but since peanut butter cookies are always a favorite at Baking for Good, and since this one is gluten-free, dairy-free, and even, by some definitions, Kosher for Passover, I couldn’t help but want to pass it along. Buckwheat flour is available in most grocery stores here in NY — if yours sells Bob’s Red Mill products, look for it there. And then use it for pancakes, too. 🙂


  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips


  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, mix together the peanut butter and agave with a spatula until combined. Stir in the egg, then the baking powder and buckwheat flour, mixing well until you no longer see streaks of flour. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  3. Using a small ice cream scoop or melon baller, scoop out balls of dough and place them about 2″ apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet. (The dough will be sticky, so it’s best to use a scoop for this step rather than your hands.)
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the edges begin to brown. Remove from the oven and let the cookies rest on the pan for 10 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack to cool completely. The cookies will be very soft when you take them out of the oven, but they will firm up as they cool.
  5. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. I share my cookies recipe like christmas cards! But of course, they’re not as delicious as yours!

  2. nikki says:

    i’m really confused how using an egg makes it dairy free…… am i missing a substitution somewhere?

    • Emily Dubner says:

      Hi Nikki,
      Great question! Eggs are technically not a dairy product. You can read a detailed explanation here: These cookies are not vegan, but by most definitions they would be considered dairy-free, and people who are lactose intolerant should have no problem eating them, assuming they aren’t allergic to any of the other ingredients. Hope that helps to clarify!

      • nikki says:

        Thank you! I feel like such an a$$, I’ve been a vegetarian for almost my entire life and always considered eggs to be dairy. Never really put any thought into it. Thanks 🙂

      • Emily Dubner says:

        It was surprising to me at first, too — they sell them in the dairy section of the grocery store, after all!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s